Reading:

In our discussion and reading last week, we talked about the boundaries of art. Adamson and Brian Wilson asserted that in the art world ‘there appear to be no more obvious boundaries to acceptability of break through. ‘ But they also suggest that artists are limited by the constraint of their materials. In discussion, we moved more in the direction of ethical limitations in art, and what an artist owed to their community. These ideas have stuck with me all week, like a bit of apple peel stuck between the teeth. It inspired me to create this comic, about an artist who does not take these limits and responsibilities seriously (admittedly, this character has been floating through my head for a while, waiting for the right circumstances to manifest. He or she is an opportunist by nature. But I thought if anyone ought to study that topic, it’s this one.)

Visiting Artist:

I truly enjoyed Kris Grey’s talk about the constant transformation of identity, and our relationship with our past selves, in spite of being tired and hungry. (on a side note, I really wish all my discussion classes weren’t all planned late in the evening. I tend to have my best thoughts at about 8:00 until noon, and by 6:00 my brain starts closing up shop. I’m making a mental list of coffee opportunities to combat this.) I want to meet them iwith a clearer head, and also get over my intimidated reaction to cool people , so I attended the artist lunch, and I’m glad I did! We ended up talking about a broad range of topics and I received some very helpful advice.

An excerpt of the conversation that I found interesting:

kris-grey-comic

Studio Visits:

This was a great motivation to getting my own studio in order, and it was a pleasure seen Jaimie and Jonathan’s spaces. I really look forward to seeing their work over the course of the semester. No comic for this section, I’m afraid.

But the way, let me know what you think of the comic formats. I apologize for the image quality this week. I was having a few scanner nightmares that should be resolved in the coming days. I’m happy to receive any constructive criticism or ideas- this is an experiment!

2 thoughts on “Entry 2

  1. LOVE having the comics along with your blurb/thought/summary in your post. It gives me a greater insight into your experience! (Also, Visual Aids are super helpful) it’s also a really neat way to possibly see your work progress this first semester and see what themes and styles you might come back to more frequently. Can’t wait to learn more in our studio visits!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for a great studio visit and inviting me into your space. Hearing you talk about some of the printmaking processes was informative and helped me understand the final product more. I think your comics are very successful and you have a great ability to draw from these observations in daily life, then connect it to a larger theme that’s accessible to the viewer. Your work feels versatile where some comics illustrate funny observations and narratives but some can weigh on the viewer heavier when these observations turn into retrospective questions. I think the small touches of color are dynamic and are great for showing a climactic moment throughout the panels.

    I’m looking forward to following your blog and seeing more comics!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment